Moments in my heart

Marriage

Every marriage is unique, with its own challenges and difficulties every couple must overcome to enjoy their life together. My husband and I share a life filled with happiness, but also pain.

I met my husband Stephen when I was a high school junior at age seventeen and for a whole year we were just friends, friend who hung around each other a lot, we flirted a little but mostly he took care of me. I thought he was cute even before we became friends but after he picked me up to help put me back in my wheelchair for the first time, I fell head over heels.

When Stephen said he wanted to marry me (once I gave him a little push!), I metaphorically jumped for joy and of course said yes. The love and happiness he gave me on our wedding day made me strong  enough to survive the hard moments to come, he will never know what an amazing gift he is to me.

I always wonder if knowing how hard life is with me if he would do it again, but if life with me is too much for him to handle, you would never know because he does it without complaint and handles it even better than I do.

“True love is selfless. It is prepared to sacrifice.”

One response to “Marriage”

  1. When you guys came to visit me, I was floored… no matter how far away he was, or how tiny your voice sounded, he always came when you called and had a big grin on his face. That kind of selfless, service-giving joy is so rare. You two are truly what love and patience look like to me. I want to be more like you two.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me