Dreams

As a young girl I dreamed of being a nurse or maybe even a doctor, I wanted to help people and be God’s hands in a world that is cruel and unforgiving. To heal what was broken.

“To dream is to truly be alive”

I would play doctor with my sibling and a much beloved younger cousin, using my plastic easy bake oven knife and ketchup as blood, I would cut them open and fix what was broken.

As time went on I became a huge klutz and started to wonder if something was wrong with me that needed to be fixed. At age twelve I was diagnosed with a disease that would take away my balance and coordination. No doctor could fix me. My dreams fell out of my reach and my life became about being helped, not about helping others.

Doctor

Doctor

“The end of an old dream, brings the beginning of a new one”

My disability took away who I once was and gave me who I am now, whether that was for the best only God can know. All I can do is live my life the way it is and not dwell on what it should have been (not as easy as it sounds, but I’m trying).

Talk to me

